Current Officers
President - Sean Wasson of Portland Public Schools
Vice President - Alicia Biggs of Lewiston Public Schools 
Secretary - Brian Laich of RSU 57
Treasurer - Tia Welch of MCI

Higher Education Representatives
Joseph Szakas of University of Maine - Augusta
Laura Gurney of Husson University
Computer Science Industry Partner
Angela Oechslie of Project>Login
Computer Science PD Representative
Aroostook County Representative
Cumberland County Representative
Julie York of South Portland Schools
Hancock County Representative
Joshua Young of AOS 91
Kennebec Valley Representative
Tia Welch of MCI
Mid-Coast Region Representative
Prema Long of Lincoln Academy
Penquis Region Representative
Matthew Drewette-Card of RSU 46
Washington County Representative
Allison Braley of RSU 25
Western Maine Region Representative
Jeff Bailey of RSU 10
York County Representative
Brian Laich of RSU 57
Our Mission and Beliefs
Maine CSTA is a regional chapter of the national Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA). The mission of our chapter is to further the mission of the CSTA and to provide a professional learning community for teachers of computer science in all grades K-graduate school in Maine.
As a chapter,we believe all Maine students should have access to the computational thinking skills computer science education develops. These skills empower Maine citizens to face the complex, open-ended problems of tomorrow.
Established in 2016
Our chapter was formed in July of 2016 with the first officers being President Tom Keller, Vice President Julie York, Secretary Tom Bickford, and Treasurer Laura Johns.
Founding Members
  • Laura Johns of Surry School
  • Stephanie Bresett of Caribou Middle School 
  • Tom Bickford of Maine Robotics (Now RIM)
  • Julie York of South Portland High School
  • Laura Gurney of Husson College
  • Andrea Mercado of University of Maine
  • Jay Collier of Educate Maine/Project>Login
  • Tom Keller of MMSA 
Past Presidents
2017-2020: Laura Johns
2016-2017: Dr. Tom Keller
Special Thanks To Our Partners
Special Thanks to Our Sponsors
Donate to CSTAMaine